Odoo • Image and Text

Welcome to Cameroon

It is bounded on the North by Chad, on the East by the Central Africa Republic, on the South by Congo, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea and on the West by Nigeria.

Cameroon is a country with several major towns, amongst which are YAOUNDE, the political capital of the country with about one million inhabitants. DOUALA, which is the major economic city, has more than two million inhabitants. The other main towns are GAROUA, BAFOUSSAM, MAROUA, BAMENDA etc.


Cameroon has more than 240 tribes which are found in three main ethnic groups; Bantus, Semi-Bantus and Sudanese. The number of national languages spoken in the country is more than 240. The most notable tribes are:
BANTUS: Beti, Bassa, Bakundu, Maka, Douala, Pygmies……
SEMI-BANTUS: Bamileke, Gbaya, Bamoun, Tikar……..
SUDANESE: Fulbe, Mafa, Toupouri, Shoa-Arabs, Moundang, Massa, Mousgoum….
Odoo • Text and Image
Odoo • Image and Text


French and English are the official languages, which are spoken by 70% and 30% of the population respectively. Spanish and German are equally spoken  by a few city-dwellers.


Cameroon is a secular state. Two major religions have followers ; Cdhristianity and Islam. Animism is also widely practised.

Public holidays

Religious: Good Friday, Easter, Ascension, Pentecost, Assumption, Christmas, End of        Fasting, Feast of the Ram.
Secular: New Year, Youth Day (11th February), Labour Day (1st May), National Day (20th May).


Besides the shooting season which is practised in the northern part of the country from November to May, all other tourist activities can be undertaken throughout the whole year.
Read more about tourism in cameroon


Dry and rainy seasons alternate in the country, with the dry season generally going from November to April. Temperatures range from 23 to 31°C in January to 21 to 35°C in July.
ISO code is CM
Time: 1 behind GMT
Odoo • Text and Image